Eagle Scout Scholarships

Eagle Scout Scholarships is a scholarship funded by the National Eagle Scout Association. They provide scholarships that could help you while you pursue your academic objectives. You can secure Eagle Scout scholarships with the right information, and that is what this article provides.

Eagle Scout Scholarships

About National Eagle Scout Association

The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) has been giving Eagle Scout pride a purpose for 50 years since a Scout’s journey does not end at Eagle.

The work of NESA members is crucial to the development of leaders who maintain the Scout Oath and Law and are responsible, engaged citizens.

As we look ahead to the next 50 years, NESA will continue to provide Eagle Scouts with the resources they need to uphold Scouting’s mission, fundamental values, and time-honored traditions for future generations.

We’ll assist you in determining how to use your time and resources to carry on the Eagle Scout tradition of excellence.

If you are not a part of our top organization, please think about joining right away so you can help keep Scouting’s missions and traditions alive for the next 50 years.

Read Also!!!

Eligibility Requirement

Eagle Scouts may apply for NESA scholarships starting in their senior year of high school and continuing through their junior year of undergraduate studies, or by the halfway mark of their associate degree program or skilled trade program.

1. An individual can only receive a NESA scholarship once.

2. Eagle Scouts may apply for NESA scholarships if they are already enrolled or have been accepted by a recognized educational institution as full-time students (with at least 12 credits) in a program of study leading to an academic degree (including associate degrees) or a skilled trade program.

3. In order to be eligible for the Cooke four-year scholarship, applicants must be enrolled full-time (at least 12 credits) in a bachelor’s degree-granting program at a four-year college or university.

3. Students attending any of the American military schools are not eligible to apply for NESA scholarships.

4. Graduate students pursuing a master’s or doctoral degree are not eligible for NESA awards.

Application Timeline

Date of the Eagle Board of Review: January 24, 2024, or earlier.

The open dates for the application portal are December 1, 2023, and January 31, 2024.

The application must be finished and submitted by January 31, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. CST.

Scholarship winners will be announced on June 10, 2024.

NESA Scholarships Awarded

The following information on the scholarships given during the 2024 academic year:

1. Lawrence S. and Mabel Cooke Scholarship

The scholarships were established by Lawrence S. Cooke in memory of his late wife, Mabel Cooke.

Winners of the Eagle Scout award must have proven their academic prowess, their need for financial support, and their active participation in both school and scouting activities.

One national recipient received a $48,000 Lawrence S. and Mabel Cooke Scholarship (up to $12,000 each year for four years).

Each of the 16 NSTs received one $16,000 scholarship (up to $4,000 per year for four years).

2. National Eagle Scout Association Scholarship

These scholarships are supported in part by endowments from the National Eagle Scout Association, the Hansen & Mary Hall Scholarship Fund, the Lester S. McElwain Eagle Scout Scholarship Endowment, and the Robert and Rebecca Palmer Eagle Scout Scholarship Endowment.

Scholarships are awarded to Eagle Scouts who have shown a commitment to their academics, scouting, and community service, as well as a clear understanding of the principles underlying these activities.

If they have a need for money, they should be able to describe how it differs from other wants, if they have one.

In addition to one $7,500 grant, each of the 16 NSTs earned two scholarships worth $3,500.

To Apply for a NESA Scholarship

You won’t need a BSA membership number or ID to amend the application, but you will need to be a member of NESA.

To verify your membership, do not contact NESA.

The NESA scholarship site can be accessed by clicking the “Click here to apply” button below. This is the only way to submit applications.

Click “New applicant” to begin the scholarship application process when you first log in to the portal.

To begin the application process, all new applicants must click “New applicant” (other BSA IDs and passwords will not work).

You can begin completing the application once you’ve made an account on the portal.

The application does not have to be finished fully at once; you can return and make changes.

A URL to access your application will be sent to you. To make any changes, bookmark this page.

You probably did not click the link to see your scholarship application if you log into the site and do not see it there. Please log back in using the provided link rather than creating a new application.

Read Also!!!

Scholarship Award Condition

For each award period, the recipient must be a current member of the National Eagle Scout Association.

Throughout the duration of the scholarship, recipients are required to enroll in, maintain, and give NESA documentation of their full-time status at the chosen college, university, or skilled trade school.

During the scholarship’s term, which is a maximum of four years, all money will be paid directly to the recipient’s chosen college, university, or skilled trade school for tuition, lodging, board, and books.

The recipient of the award must be enrolled full-time (at least 12 credits) in a program leading to an academic degree (including associate degrees) or a skilled trade program at a recognized educational institution.

Upon receipt of a school or program course schedule attesting to the awardee’s full-time status and NESA’s receipt of payment, NESA will make the designated college, university, or skilled trade program payments.

NESA will pay Cooke’s four-year grant recipients’ chosen college or university after it receives a course schedule and an unofficial transcript confirming their enrollment as a full-time student.

At NESA’s exclusive discretion, scholarship grants will either be paid in installments or all at once.

The scholarship must be used during the designated academic year by the recipient. Deferring a scholarship is not permitted.

At the start of the academic year, the scholarship recipient will provide a brief video report (between two and four minutes) to NESA outlining the value of the scholarship to their academic progress.

Since you may now take advantage of this and join the Eagle Scout family, you shouldn’t make the justification that you lack the resources for your studies.