Prime Minister Scholarship – The “Prime Minister’s Scholarship Scheme (PMSS)” is in place to promote technical and post-graduate education for the widows and wards of deceased/ex-service members of the armed forces. 

Prime Minister Scholarship

The program is sponsored by the Prime Minister’s Office and managed by the National Defense Fund. Scholarships are provided for study at a variety of technical colleges (medical, dental, veterinary, engineering, MBA, MCA, and other equivalent technical universities with AICTE/UGC permission).

About the Prime Minister Scholarship

The Program was launched in 2006. A total of 5,000 scholarships (5500) are given out each year under this program. 

The monthly scholarship payments, which are made yearly, are Rs. 2,000 for males and Rs. 2,250 for girls. 

Since the beginning of the fiscal year 2019–20, this has been raised to Rs. 2,500 for boys and Rs. 3,000 for girls per month. 

The money is transferred by ECS into the chosen students‘ bank accounts. With effect from the 2016–17 academic year, the program switched from an offline to an online mode.

The Welfare and Rehabilitation Board, a division of the Ministry of Home Affairs, is responsible for managing the Prime Minister Scholarship Scheme (PMSS). 

It is a scholarship program designed to support further professional and technical education for dependent wards, widows, and State Police Personnel who are also members of the Central Armed Police Forces and Assam Rifles (CAPFs & AR).


Prime Minister Scholarship – Key Eligibility

The candidates that qualify for the PM scholarship are whom? What are the main requirements for this scholarship’s eligibility that one must meet? Which programs are eligible for the scholarship?

This section contains all of the responses to these queries. In order to qualify for this award, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Being the dependent ward or widow of a deceased CAPF or AR, an ex-CAPF or AR, a current or retired CAPF or AR, or a member of the State Police
  • Enrolling in the stated professional courses on the list below. (Note that lateral entry and integrated courses are exempt.)
  • For these courses, class 12 or a diploma or a degree should be the minimal educational requirement.
  • Obtaining the required educational qualification with a grade point average of at least 60%. (Note: Applicants must receive at least 50% on the qualifying exam in order to be renewed in consecutive years.)

The scholarship program would also include the children of State Police officials who are/were martyred in Naxal/terror acts, following the resolution issued by the Government of India last year. Each year, 500 scholarships will be awarded to the dependents of State Police employees.


  • The monthly scholarship amount for boys is Rs. 2000 and for girls, it is Rs. 2250.
  • Each school year, 5500 widows and wards of former service members are chosen to receive scholarships.
  • Boys and girls are each awarded an equal number of scholarships.
  • According to the length of the courses that have been approved by the relevant regulatory organizations, scholarships are paid for a period ranging from one to five years.
  • Scholarship money is given each year to the chosen students.

Prime Minister Scholarship – Documents Required

Once candidates are familiar with the detailed application procedure, they must also be eager to learn about the required paperwork for the Prime Minister Scholarship Scheme. 

It is suggested to candidates that they prepare scanned copies of all supporting papers before beginning the application since applications are only accepted online. 

The required supporting materials for the PM scholarship application are listed below:

  • Serving Certificate from HOO (in the case of serving personnel)
  • A certificate from the concerned state government attesting to the death of State Police officers during terrorist or Naxal attacks
  • The appropriate Certificate of Minimum Educational Qualification (MEQ) Class 12 mark sheets, diploma mark sheets (for all semesters), or graduation mark sheets
  • Discharge Certificate/Book and PPO (Required for Categories A through F)
  • Death certificate (applicable to personnel who have passed away)
  • Disability Certificate (applicable to personnel with disabilities)
  • Certificate of Gallantry (Applicable to recipients of the Gallantry Award) 

Prime Minister Scholarship – Application Process

How can you submit an application for the PM scholarship? Can a student submit an offline scholarship application? No, you must apply for the PM scholarship online exclusively. The National Scholarship Portal will be used to submit applications for the academic year 2019–20. Following is a step-by-step instruction for applicants for the scholarship:

Step 1: Registering on NSP

  • Visit, the NSP’s official website.
  • “New Registration” should be clicked.
  • Examine the application guidelines thoroughly.
  • Go ahead and keep going.
  • Include the necessary information.
  • Then click “Register.”

Step 2: Complete the Application

  • Using the application ID and password sent to the registered mobile number, log into the site.
  • The registered cellphone number will receive an OTP upon successful login.
  • Check the OTP, then alter the password.
  • After logging in, complete the scholarship application.
  • All supporting documents should be uploaded in scanned form.
  • Don’t forget to submit the application.


PM Scholarship – Contact Details

Candidates can immediately contact the Welfare and Rehabilitation Board (WARB) on the contact information shown below if they have any questions about the PM scholarship, its eligibility, award details, selection criteria, application process, or anything else.

Phone number – 011-23063111

Email –