Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship

If you have an interest in the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan, you’ve come to the right place. As you continue to read, we will provide you with the information you need regarding the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan.

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan

The Commonwealth Scholarship program is designed to offer educational opportunities to students hailing from Commonwealth nations who may lack the means to pursue higher education in the United Kingdom.

Through funding various postgraduate study formats, this initiative plays a crucial role in nurturing future innovators and leaders.

The funding for this scholarship program is derived from the Foreign, Commonwealth, and Development Office (FCDO), the Department of Education, and collaborative partnerships with UK universities.

Remarkably, since its inception in 1960, this program has supported the educational pursuits of 31,000 Commonwealth scholars and fellows.

The administration of Britain’s contribution to the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) falls under the jurisdiction of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC).

The CSC annually sponsors over 800 awards, with funding for these awards originating from the Department for International Development, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, and the Scottish Government.

These sponsorships are developed in collaboration with UK universities. Furthermore, the CSC identifies UK citizens as nominees for scholarships to pursue studies in other Commonwealth countries as part of the CSFP.

The CSC offers seven distinct types of awards, catering to various educational needs:

1. Scholarships for PhD research

2. Scholarships for Master’s degree programs

3. Shared Scholarships in partnership with UK universities to support Master’s programs

4. Academic Fellowships for faculty members serving in universities in developing countries

5. Split-site Scholarships enabling PhD students to spend up to one year studying in the UK

6. Professional Fellowships for mid-career professionals in developing countries

7. Distance Learning Scholarships for students from developing nations to pursue UK Master’s degree courses while residing in their home countries.

Eligibility and Application Procedure

Each category of award comes with its own set of qualifications and application process, all of which can be found on the CSC’s website.

The application deadline for these awards is November 1, 2021. Additionally, applicants are required to have submitted an application for admission to a qualifying program of study at the University of Edinburgh.

How to Apply

To apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship, you must hold citizenship or permanent residency in a Commonwealth nation.

This eligibility extends to individuals who are refugees or classified as British-protected persons.

Furthermore, it is a prerequisite that you demonstrate financial need, indicating that you are unable to pursue studies in the UK without the support of the scholarship.


For more information, you can check more of our articles or leave a comment in the comment section below and we will get back to you as soon as possible.