Subject Combination for Political Science

Subject Combination for Political Science: Political science is a course that is chosen by most social science students. It is also rated as one of the best courses to study. Studying political science does not necessarily means you should be a politician, this course teaches you the basic things you need to know about politics and also some form of government.

Subject Combination for Political Science

As a secondary school graduate who has the passion or drives to study this course, it is necessary for you to know the requirements. In this article, you will learn about your JAMB and WAEC subject combinations. This would help you prepare thoroughly for what you will face.

Many students are unaware of the topics that are necessary for a given program, and selecting the incorrect combination of subjects will undoubtedly have an impact on your future ability to gain admission. 

We made an effort to include the WAEC and JAMB subject combinations that are necessary for this course. 

Keep in mind that the WAEC and JAMB exams will be completely different from one another, that passing the WAEC exam will encourage you to take the JAMB exam, and that the subject mix will alter slightly.

Subject Combination for Political Science (WAEC and Jamb)

Jamb Subject Combination for Political Science

  • Use of English
  • Government or History
  • Two other Social Science/Arts subjects

With the knowledge provided above, one can concentrate on their studies and give each topic more attention in order to earn the greatest grades possible, which will increase their chances of being admitted to the Department of Political Science

The basic JAMB combination required to study political science at the university is shown above, but some universities have their own requirements that may differ from those of other universities.

In some circumstances, these universities might insist that a particular course be included in the combination, but generally speaking, the information mentioned above is what is needed.

However, it is always advisable to confirm the university’s prerequisites for the course in advance to be sure, as we have already mentioned, some colleges may require a particular course.


Waec Subject Required for Political Science

  • Mathematics
  • English Language
  • Government
  • CRS
  • Commerce
  • Literature in English
  • Biology
  • Agricultural science
  • Economics

For WAEC, there are nine (9) courses needed to be able to go study Political Science in tertiary institutions.  These subjects are;

  • Mathematics 
  • English Language 
  • Agricultural Science
  • Biology
  • Commerce 
  • CRS
  • Economics
  • Government
  • Literature in English

For a chance at the potential entrance to the university of one’s choosing, one must have these topics in their WAEC results. 

Keeping in mind that not all universities offer Political Science as a course to study, it is critical for students to make an informed decision about the university where they would like to enroll in the course. 

Many students make the error of enrolling in tertiary schools that do not offer the subject they want to take, only to learn later that they made the wrong decision. 

Nigerian students frequently make this error, which could leave them stranded and force them to attend an additional year of study while wasting money and time. 

Therefore, it is crucial to be certain of the institution one is applying to and to have an understanding of the various courses they offer.

Nigerian Universities that Offer Political Science

  • University of Nigeria (UNN)
  • Abia State University (ABSU)
  • University of Benin (UNIBEN)
  • University of Ibadan (UI)
  • Adamawa State University (ADSU)
  • Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)
  • Ambrose Alli University (AAU)
  • Anambra State University (ANSU)
  • Babcock University (BABCOCK)
  • Benson Idahosa University (BIU)
  • Benue State University (BSU)
  • Bingham University (BINGHAM)
  • Bowen University (BU)
  • Caritas University (CARITAS)
  • Delta State University (DELSU)
  • Ebonyi State University (EBSU)
  • Enugu State University Of Science And Technology (ESUT)
  • Igbinedion University (IUO)
  • Gombe State University (GOMSU)
  • Lagos State University (LASU)
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe University (UNIZIK)
  • Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU)
  • University of Jos (UNIJOS)
  • University of Ilorin (UNILORIN)
  • University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)
  • University of Uyo (UNIUYO)
  • Usman Dan Fodio University (UDUSOK)
  • Kaduna State University (KASU)
  • Madonna University (MADONNA)
  • Niger Delta University (NDU)
  • Adekunle Ajasin University (AAUA)
  • kogi State University (KSU)
  • Nasarawa State University (NSU)
  • Ekiti State University (EKSU)
  • Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University (IBBU)
  • Akwa Ibom State University (AKUTECH)
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University (JABU)
  • Covenant University (CU)
  • Obong University (OU)
  • Redeemer’s University (RUN)
  • Umaru Musa Yar’adua University (UMYU)
  • Renaissance University (RNU)
  • Novena University (NOVENA)
  • Achievers University (ACHIEVERS)
  • Afe Babalola University (ABUAD)
  • Bauchi State University (BASU)
  • Baze University (BAZE)
  • Caleb University (CALEB)
  • Nigerian Police Academy, Wudil, Kano State (NPA)
  • Federal University, Dutsin-ma (FUDMA)
  • Federal University, Lafia (FUL)
  • Fountain University (FOUNTAIN)
  • Godfrey Okoye University (GO)
  • Oduduwa University (ODUDUWA)
  • Tansian University (TANSIAN)
  • University Of Mkar (UNIMKAR)
  • Wellspring University (WELLSPRING)
  • Federal University, Birnin Kebbi (FUBK)
  • Wesley University Of Science And Technology (WUSTO)
  • Yobe State University (YSU)
  • Chrisland University (CHRISLAND)
  • Al-Qalam University, Katsina (AUK)
  • Christopher University (CHRISTOPHER)
  • Edwin Clark University (ECU)
  • Hezekiah University (UNIHEZ)
  • Federal University Gashua (FUGASHUA)
  • Gregory University, Uturu (GUU
  • Southwestern University (SWU)
  • Summit University Offa (SUMMIT)
  • Kings University (UNIKINGS)
  • University of Lagos (UNILAG)
  • Sokoto State University (SSU)
  • Ritman University (RITMAN)



Therefore, a complete list of Nigerian universities that offer Political Science as a course to study may be found in the list above.  Prospective students should find it a lot simpler and more precise to make decisions as a result.

Knowing the university that offers these courses always helps minimize the possibility of being stuck or being forced to take a completely different course because the school doesn’t offer it or because one’s subject combination does not meet the university’s requirements. 

We trust that this would guide aspirant kids in the correct direction as they get ready for JAMB and WAEC.